7/18 - Important Information RE: Implementing IEPs

Memo to:              All Special Education Staff, School Principals

Memo from:         Jennifer Parks-Orozco

Date:                      July 12, 2016

Subject:                 California Department of Education Corrective Action

In a recent California Department of Education (CDE) complaint filed by a parent of a student with special needs, the complaint included an allegation that the District failed to implement the individualized education program (IEP) as required by California Education Code (EC) Section 56043(i).

The purpose of this email memorandum is to inform all special education staff and administration of the requirement to comply with the above cited portion of the law, which is stated below:

“A pupil’s individualized education program [IEP] shall be implemented as soon as possible following the [IEP] team meeting, pursuant to Section 300.323 (c) (2) of Title 34 of the Code of Federal Regulations and in accordance with Section 56344.”

Please contact a Special Education Project Resource Teacher (PRT) or your AREA Special Education Administrator if you have any questions regarding your responsibilities.

Special Education Administrator

Project Resource Teacher

 

Area 1 – Angelia Watkins   619-725-7238

                 awatkins@sandi.net

 

Robin Twiss, mtwiss@sandi.net

Diane Conti, dconti@sandi.net

 

Area 2 – Sara Cline  619-725-7095

                scline@sandi.net

 

Vicki Root, vroot@sandi.net

Danielle Stein, dstein1@sandi.net

 

Area 3 – Julie Jones  619-725-7697

                jjones2@sandi.net

 

Jennifer Hoogerhyde, jhoogerhyde@sandi.net

Mallory Singer,  msinger@sandi.net

 

Area 4 – Pamela Busch 619-725-7203

                pbusch@sandi.net

 

David Conner  dconner@sandi.net

Jamie Milton, jmilton@sandi.net

 

Area 5 – David Rios 619-725-7208

                drios1@sandi.net

 

Amber Quinnell-Coussa, aquinnell@sandi.net

 

Area 6 – Grace Ridgeway 619-725-7222

                mridgeway@sandi.net

 

 

Mia Martinez, mmartinez9@sandi.net

Roxanne Navarro, rnavarro@sandi.net

 

Program Manager Operations-Lisa Dreyer 619-725-7650

                ldryer@sandi.net

                   

 

Debby Warner Anderson- Charters, CDE Compliance

dwarner@sandi.net