AAAE - Touching the Spirit Award Nomination Open - Due 5/10/19


The San Diego County Association of African American Educators (AAAE) is proud to host the 2019 “Touching the Spirit” Annual Student Awards.  This program will honor 3rd through 12th grade African American and African students. Details for this event are:


Thursday, May 30, 2019

5:30 P.M. - 7:30 P.M.

Lincoln High School Auditorium

(4777 Imperial Avenue, San Diego, CA 92113)


This awards assembly is designed to celebrate African American student achievement, community service and cultural heritage. Schools are invited to nominate and bring up to six African American students, three males and three females, to receive one of the following awards.


Male Awards 

• Dr. John Griffith,  Academic Achievement Award                    

• Dr. Charles Thomas, Community Service Award

• Dr. Jack Kimbrough, Pride in Cultural Heritage Award


Female Awards

• Dr. Bertha Pendleton, Academic Achievement Award 

• Dr. Shirley Weber, Community Service Award

• Ms. Shirley Day Williams, Pride in Cultural Heritage Award


Awards Criteria 


Academic Achievement Award 

• Has maintained a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or equivalent in elementary.

• Has shown continuous academic improvement and currently has a 3.0 or higher.

• Has shown the greatest academic improvement during the school year and is currently have over 3.0 GPA.


Community Service Award

• Has provided extra time and effort in supporting community activities or performing community service.

• Shows consistent leadership skills on campus, e.g. student government.

• Demonstrates follow-through in improving his/her school or community environments.


Pride in Cultural Heritage Award

• Has shown pride in African/African American culture through specific actions or projects undertaken at the school or in the community.

• Consistently seeks knowledge of African/African American culture.

• Shares personal knowledge of African/African American culture with others.


Students must be chaperoned by a parent and/or a school representative. The school/parent is responsible for assuring that every award recipient has transportation to and from this event.


 Completed Nomination Forms must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, May 10, 2019. Please submit the completed forms online at Schools submitting completed nomination forms, meeting the requirements stated above will be accepted. Questions should be directed to LaShae Collins at (858) 859-2547.