9/25 2018–19 Civic Learning Awards

September 17, 2018

Dear County and District Superintendents, Charter School Administrators, and School Principals:

2018–19 Civic Learning Awards

We recognize and value the crucial role that elementary, middle, and high schools play in preparing each generation for participation in our democracy, so with great enthusiasm that we invite you today—on Constitution Day—to apply for the California Civic Learning Award. Now in its seventh year, the award is designed to celebrate successful efforts to engage students in civic learning and to identify at each grade span effective models that can be replicated. Applications are due January 18, 2019.

The Civic Learning Award program has three levels: Awards of Excellence, Distinction, and Merit. Winners are selected from each grade span by a panel of experts based on the depth and breadth of their civic learning classes, clubs, and programs. Award of Excellence winners receive a personal visit from the Chief Justice. Award of Distinction winners are visited by an appellate court justice; and superior court judicial officers provide recognition to schools receiving the Award of Merit. The winners in the two top categories will also receive a plaque and be invited to a California School Recognition Program Ceremony hosted by the California Department of Education. All winners are featured on the California Courts Civic Learning Award website at http://www.courts.ca.gov/23201.htm.

We hope that you will take this opportunity to recognize the civic educators at your school and share the application with them. The application is available online at http://www.courts.ca.gov/23201.htm#tab35204. If you have questions, please contact Janet Mann, California Department of Education at jmann@cde.ca.gov or Judicial Outreach at judicialoutreach@jud.ca.gov.


Chief Justice of California and
Chair of the Judicial Council

State Superintendent of Public Instruction