SDUSD Header
Return to Headlines

Retired Teachers Give a Dozen Scholarships

CalRTA 2012 Scholarship Winners

Front row left to right: Quynh Anh Nguyen, Roxanne
Capanzana, Kylie Anderson, Erica Le, Nataly Orozco
Sharon Vongvanith
Back row left to right: Kira Adsit, Gustavo
Flores, Maxwell Weishan, Michael Tran, Britta Henry, Holly Hirshi

San Diego members of the California Retired Teacher Association (CalRTA), Division 4 have given $1,500 scholarships to 12 graduating seniors.

The honorees have an average GPA of 3.92 and have applied for acceptance to top universities, including San Diego State, UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, UCSD, University of Arizona and University of Pennsylvania. Their diverse areas of study include biology, business, psychology, journalism, sports management and anesthesiology. 

“CalRTA is proud of its scholarship program that recognizes deserving, hardworking and intelligent young people,” said Cindy Spillane, the organization’s membership co-chair. “It’s a great pleasure for CalRTA members to support and contribute to the education of San Diego students.”

High school seniors were judged on their academic achievement, school leadership, extracurricular activities, community and volunteer service, financial need, and work and home activities. They must be attending a four-year university after high school.

The students were honored at a luncheon June 2. The 2012 scholarship recipients are:

  • Kira Adsit, Scripps Ranch
  • Kylie Anderson, Clairemont
  • Roxanne Capanzana, Morse
  • Gustavo Flores, Point Loma
  • Britta Henry, Patrick Henry
  • Holly Hirschi, Madison
  • Erica Le, Crawford
  • Quynh Anh Nguyen, Kearny International Business
  • Nataly Orozco, Gompers Prep
  • Michael Tran, Mira Mesa
  • Sharon Vongvanith, The Preuss School UCSD
  • Maxwell Weishan, Serra

The Scholarship Foundation of CalRTA, Division 4, was established nearly 30 years ago. In the past 10 years, Division 4 has awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships to more than 100 students. For more information about the scholarship recipients or about CalRTA, contact Vi Huprich, president of CalRTA, Division 4, at or