California Standardized Testing & Reporting (STAR) Program

The Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program, part of California's statewide testing and accountability system, helps measure how well students are learning academic skills. The STAR Program consists of four parts:

California Standards Test (CST)

The California Standards Tests in English language arts, mathematics, science, and history/social science measure student performance against California's content standards. The content standards are grade and course specific and specify what each student should know and be able to do. Learn more.

California Modified Assessment (CMA)

CMA provides an alternate assessment of the California content standards based on modified achievement standards. To learn more, visit the California Departnent of Education's CMA website.

California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)

The CAPA is a performance assessment for students with moderate or profound disabilities who receive a primarily functional or life skills curriculum, and are unable to participate in more traditional testing. To learn more, visit the California Department of Education's CAPA website.

Standards Based Tests in Spanish (STS)

The STS exams (the Spanish language version of the California Standards Tests) are administered to Spanish-speaking English learner students who have been enrolled in U.S. schools for less than 12 months, or are enrolled in a Biliteracy program.

Related Resources

STAR Results   (Redirects to comprehensive state Department of Education)

Contact Information

Erin Gordon, Director
Assessment Services Department
(619) 725-7065