Hearing and vision screenings will be provided as required by state law at the following levels:
• Hearing screening for all students in grades K, 2, 5, 8;
• Vision screening for grades K, 3, 6, 9;
• New students and students referred by parents or school personnel may also be screened.
Exclusions from Screenings: Contact your school nurse or principal regarding excluding your child from any of these screenings.
State law requires that all students under age 18 years, pre-kindergarten through grade 12, be immunized against certain diseases unless they are exempt for medical reasons or because of personal beliefs. At the time of registration, the school is required to have proof that your child has received all currently due immunizations.
The district participates in the San Diego Regional Immunization Registry (SDIR), a countywide computer system that keeps track of immunizations (shots). See Immunizations box for specific requirements. Check with your pediatrician, family physician or medical clinic to make sure your child is fully immunized. Your child may be excluded from attending school if these requirements are not met.
Information on obtaining a permanent medical exemption or personal beliefs exemption for your child is available from the school nurse.
California’s Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) program requires every child to have a physical examination before entering school in kindergarten. Parents /guardians are required to present a report of examination or a waiver statement to the school within 91 days of entry to first grade.
Students who have not met this requirement by the appropriate date may be excluded from school attendance for up to five days. Parents/guardians needing assistance meeting the requirements can call 619-692-8808. You are encouraged to complete this exam at kindergarten entry to make sure your child is healthy and ready to learn.
Effective January 1, 2007, an Oral Health Assessment (dental examination) by a licensed California dental health pro-fessional is required for children entering public school for the first time (at kinder-garten or first grade). The Oral Health Assessment must be completed and re-turned to the school by May 31 of that first school year. Assessments done 12 months prior to school entry also meet this requirement. Obtain the form from the school or your dental health provider to complete.
Parents/guardians may sign a waiver of this requirement, which is found on the OHA form available at the school. There is no penalty or exclusion if this requirement is not met. The parent/guardian can call (800) 675-2229 for assistance in finding a provider for the Oral Health Assessment.
The problem of head lice (pediculosis) is ongoing and can be difficult to control at home and at school. Even though head lice and nits (eggs) are not a threat to health, they are a frustrating nuisance. Prompt treatment of students with a positive diagnosis of head lice ensures minimal disruption of their education. When a student is identified as having head lice, the student will be sent home at the end of the school day for treatment. It is the responsibility of the parent to treat and control head lice infestation. Key to success in controlling head lice, with small chance of recurrence, is in the removal of all nits after the use of the pediculocide. After treatment at home, it is mandatory for the student to return to school the next day, via the health office, for inspection. The student may return to class provided the head lice have been treated and there are no live lice in the hair, even if nits (eggs) are still present. Parents are encouraged to continue removing nits until the problem is resolved.
Mass screening (school-wide or whole classrooms) is not an evidence-based practice in controlling head lice infestation/reinfestation. Parents/guardians are encouraged to incorporate inspecting their child’s hair as part of their regular hygiene routine. The School Attendance Review Board (SARB) may intervene in case of noncompliance or chronic infestations requiring repeated exclusions from school.
The district is required to cooperate with the County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency to prevent and control communicable diseases in school-age children.
When there is good reason to believe a student has a contagious or infectious disease, the parent/guardian will be contacted and the student sent home. The student may return to school when well and/or released by a physician. If there is reason to believe a student is suffering from a recognized contagious or infectious disease, the student will be excluded from school until school officials are satisfied that the student no longer has the contagious or infectious disease.
The California Education Code states that any student who is required to take medication prescribed by a physician during the regular school day, may be assisted by the school nurse or other designated school personnel if the district receives: (1.) a written statement from the physician detailing the method, amount and time schedules that the medication is to be taken and (2.) a written statement from the student’s parent/guardian authorizing the school district to administer the medication. (E.C. 49422, 49423)
Prescription medications must be in the original pharmacy container with the original prescription label adhered to the container. Students may carry and self-administer prescription auto-injectable epinephrine and asthma inhalers if certain requirements are met.
No other prescription or over-the-counter medications, vitamins, herbs, or alternative medications may be carried by students on their person, in a backpack or other container except as indicated above and with the express knowledge and per-mission of the school nurse. Limited over-the-counter medications may be available at some school sites and can be given only by a credentialed school nurse or trained health technician with parent/guardian consent on file.
Contact the school nurse if you have questions. Forms for medication administration are available at your child’s school.
Medication at home: The parent/guardian of a student on a continuing medication regimen at home is required to inform the school nurse or other designated certificated school employee of the medication being taken, the current dosage and the name of the supervising physician. The information is gathered annually on the Health Information Exchange form distributed at the beginning of each year. Notification is required to your child’s school when new medications are started at any time during the school year.
An annual physical examination is required for all secondary students who participate in interscholastic athletic pro-grams.
The coach or school nurse may arrange for health screenings at school. Complete physical exams by a personal physician are recommended.
In addition, the district recommends that new students submit reports of recent physical exams when they enter school. A parent/guardian may file a written, signed statement with the school principal stating that the parent/guardian will not consent to a physical examination of the child.
Health instruction in areas such as nutrition, dental health, disease process, safe living, vision and hearing, drugs, alcohol, tobacco, community health, physical fit-ness, mental-emotional health, human reproduction, and sexually transmitted diseases including HIV/AIDS, is part of the school curriculum.
Prior to instruction, parents have opportunities to preview instruction and audio-visual materials dealing with human reproduction and sex education. A student may be excused from health instruction related to human reproduction and sexually transmitted diseases on written request from the parent/guardian.
San Diego Unified does not carry medical or dental insurance for students injured on school premises, while under school jurisdiction or while participating in school district activities. For families without insurance, a policy may be available through a private insurance company. Call (800) 367-5830 for details.
To contact the district's Certified Application Assistants (CAA), call (619) 571-3332 for additional information to qualify . For the Medi-Cal program, call (866) 262-9881 or go to the program website.
Children need to have these shots before they can begin childcare and school, as TDaP is required for grades 8-12.
Children entering child care must have:
Children entering kindergarten must have: