Board President's Scholarship

Scholarship winners
Scholarship winners Burton Skomal, left, and Wendy Fransk, with Mission Federal Credit Union's Stephanie Lloyd and Dr. John Lee Evans, Board of Education President.
Past Winners
  • 1994 — Saralyn McSorley

    Thanks to sponsor
    Mission Federal Credit Union

  • 1995 — Cynthia Roberts, Magdalena Ruvalcaba
  • 1996 — Linda Houston
  • 1997 — Angela Hernandez
  • 1998 — Riva Bugera, Sonia Castillo
  • 1999 — Lourdes R. Cervantes
  • 2000 — Karen Liberto, Paula Perretta
  • 2001 — Rafael Gamboa, Joy Mathiesen
  • 2002 — Kimberleigh Kopp, Martha Corrales
  • 2003 — Kelli Dancs, Angelia Watkins
  • 2004 — Alexandra Kim, Gloria C. Rodriguez
  • 2006 — Catalina Calderon, Deborah Harmon
  • 2007 — Richard Ojeda, Elisabeth Sriwarodom
  • 2008 — Myriah McGlynn, Yolanda Zúniga
  • 2009 — Shawneka Thomas, Jillian Margaret Collins
  • 2010 — Joseph Murphy, Carlos Elizondo, Charles James, Griselda Hembera
  • 2011 – None
  • 2012 – Wendy Fransk, Burton Skomal

Board President’s Scholarship

Since 1994, the San Diego Unified School District has presented the Board President’s Scholarship to monthly, classified district employees who are currently enrolled in a college and have a goal of becoming a teacher.

2012 Recipients

Wendy Fransk

Wendy is a Special Education Assistant at Serra High School. Although this was not her original career path, she now believes that teaching these exceptional students is her “true passion.”

“Believing in my students and their future is the most important aspect of my job,” she said.

Wendy’s colleagues describe her as a dedicated, caring individual who goes above and beyond what is expected in order to meet the needs of her students. Wendy is currently attending National University to earn her Masters Degree in Special Education as well as her Mild/Moderate and Moderate/Severe teaching credentials.

Burton Skomal

Burton has been employed at ALBA High School as a Special Education Assistant since 2008. Burton plans to use this scholarship award to complete his education and earn his teaching credential. Burton’s colleagues admire his ability to reach out to students on an emotional level and encourage them to succeed.

“His ability to connect with all students and his talent at helping students with special needs is phenomenal,” one teacher wrote.

Burton believes that with this opportunity he will be able to,”bring out the best in ALL kids and help them see themselves as the great, young futures that they represent.” 

How to Apply

The Board President's Scholarship Award is presented annually by the President of the Board of Education to two monthly classified employees interested in becoming a teacher. Scholarship funds are to be used for tuition, fees or books at any local two- or four-year accredited college or university. The application period is generally in September-October annually, with the announcement in November.

The application will be available during the application period. In addition, applicants complete an essay on they should be selected and the recommendation of two district employees who have been your supervisor (teacher or principal, for example).

For more information, contact the Board of Education office at  (619) 725-5550.