Race/Human Relations & Advocacy


The Race/Human Relations and Advocacy Program promotes racial and cultural harmony for students and staff in response to both site-based needs and district objectives. The program seeks to ensure that equity in education is provided for all students and staff in the San Diego Unified School District.

Goals and Objectives

  • To promote equitable educational opportunities for all students

  • To prepare all students to succeed in a culturally diverse society

  • To build positive relationships between individuals

  • To create positive working environments

  • To nurture self-renewal at sites during difficult times

Contact Information

Race/Human Relations and Advocacy Department
Pacific Beach Center
4606 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA  92109

(858) 490-8678 – Phone
(858) 274-6457 – Fax

Key Contacts

TitleContact
Program ManagerAgin Shaheed
ashaheed@sandi.net
(858) 490-8678
Administrative AssistantBrenda Brigham
bbrigham@sandi.net
(858) 490-8678
Resource School CounselorDr. Mariana Gomez
mgomez5@sandi.net
(858) 490-8673
Resource School Counselor

Rodolfo Parra
rparra1@sandi.net
(858) 490-8685

Resource School Counselor

Mario Valladolid
mvalladolid@sandi.net
(858) 490-8678

Resource School Counselor

Trisha Chung
tchung@sandi.net
(858) 490-8677 

Pupil Advocate  

Macedonio Arteaga Jr.
marteagajr@sandi.net
(858) 490-8678 

Pupil Advocate  
Pupil Advocate  

Leonard J. Thompson III
lthompson@sandi.net
(858) 490-8689

Education Assistant

Hiram Haynes-Pitts
hhaynes-pitts@sandi.net
(858) 490-8684

Education Assistant

Amir Rahim
arahim@sandi.net
(858) 490-8678